A. Halls Department

The Halls department runs a total of 78 individual hall Units,  with a total bed capacity of 11, 539 spread over the eleven faculties of the University of Nairobi.

To ensure a transparent, fair and accountable room allocation process the department has adopted an on-line Halls Management Information System–HAMIS and is working closely with the offices of the Dean of Students.

Students  who are out of session, Module II students and postgraduates may be considered for accommodation whenever there is excess capacity in the system

Halls Department Staff:

Manager Halls Officer's Office

Zadock Opole - Manager Halls

Ms. Norah Namachanja S. – Deputy Chief Halls Officer - Operations

Mr. Burugu Stephen Kaboi – Assistant Halls Officer


Halls Officers :

Mr. Onchweri Charles W A  - Halls Officer, Upper State House Road SMU

Ms. Sikuku Inviolata A  - Halls Officer, Chiromo SMU

Ms. Nyabinge Janet - Halls Officer, LSHR SMU

Mr. Nzoka Robinson Mulwa - Halls Officer- Kikuyu SMU

Mr. Ogal Wycliffe O -Halls Officer, Kenya Science SMU

Ms. Esther Mwongo - Ag. Halls Officer KMSH SMU

Mrs. Mwangi Lucy Wairimu - Halls Officer Mamlaka

Ms. Vera Makumi - Halls Officer Upper Kabete Campus SMU



During the 2013/2014 academic year, the University admitted several students with special needs and the department is exploring how best to meet their needs in line with the core value of responsiveness to the needs of students with special needs.